• Random Thoughts
  • Posts
  • How To Let Companies Know You're Interested In Working For Them Via LinkedIn

How To Let Companies Know You're Interested In Working For Them Via LinkedIn

VISUALS INCLUDED: A cool little feature to make it known and put yourself in their candidate database

INTRO

LinkedIn is a wonderful tool for jobseekers. It’s where I find the majority of my candidates for my day job and a good amount of my content is geared towards optimizing your LinkedIn profile & experience.

I mean why not? 800M+ users out there, that’s a massive network. Outside of Twitter, there isn’t a professional network like that where you can interact with the content of your peers you haven’t met yet or can’t meet in person.

Anyways, I digress.

Here’s a helpful tool to help jobseekers show themselves as interested in working for X company in the future via LinkedIn.

I’ll use Nvidia as an example since they’re all over the news and in an absolute tear right now.

I’ll show you how to do it as a job seeker, and then how we see it on our side as a recruiter using visuals.

Lets get into it:

Step One: go onto your target company’s LinkedIn Page (Nvidia).

Step Two: Go to the “About” Section

Step Three: Scroll down, and click this button “Interested in working with us in the future”

Make sure to follow them also

Now, let’s flip the script. Let’s pretend I’m a recruiter at Nvidia, and I’m running searches through the LinkedIn Recruiter platform (the premium account we use to find candidates via LinkedIn like it’s a job board).

On our LinkedIn Recruiter Dashboard, you’ll show up here. *note, this dashboard shows the stats for the company I work for, not Nvidia*

So I did an extremely basic & lazy search just to show an example. But the point I want to make is this:

Regardless of the type of skillset or search, usually thousands upon thousands of candidates show up originally. The filters on the top “open to work” to “interested in your company” help us narrow down candidates.

When I’m recruiting, I’d rather start with the 29k candidates who are “interested in working for my company” because they’re more likely to accept a job offer as they’ve already proactively shown their interest level.

Plus, as a job seeker, you’re obviously more likely to be found in a pool of 29k candidates in this example vs. 1.5M candidates.

Hope this newsletter helps.

As always, here is 50% off my jobseeker's ebook which goes through step-by-step how to land your next gig, reverse engineered like this newsletter. Would appreciate your support as this type of content is time consuming!

Have a great weekend, folks.

Reply

or to participate.